What is the Alcotest in NJ?
The Dräger Alcotest® 7110 Breathalyzer This sophisticated Breathalyzer device is used by the majority of New Jersey municipality in determining the Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) of a suspect.
How do you read Alcotest results?
Generally, one green band means your BAC is under 0.05%, which is within the legal limit to drive. Two green bands indicate that your BAC is between 0.05% and 0.10%, and three bands means it’s over 0.10%. You can buy either type of test for yourself if you want to make sure you’re safe before you get behind the wheel.
What is a DRE in NJ?
New Jersey law requires a drug recognition expert (“DRE”) in the vast majority of drug DUI cases. A DRE is a police officer who has special training to identify drug impairment.
Can you refuse a field sobriety test in New Jersey?
You may be surprised to know that you can say no if you are stopped and asked to take a field sobriety test. No law in New Jersey requires you to take one. You can politely refuse to take one not to aggravate the officers and give them a reason to arrest you.
How often do Breathalyzers need to be calibrated in NJ?
twice a year
How Often Must the Alcotest Be Calibrated? In accordance with the Supreme Court decision in State v. Chun, calibration of every Alcotest Breathalyzer must be conducted twice a year (i.e. semi-annually).
How much percent of alcohol is eliminated through the liver?
Metabolism of alcohol More than 90% of alcohol is eliminated by the liver; 2-5% is excreted unchanged in urine, sweat, or breath.
What is EC result?
The readings are reported on the AIR in two ways, first in the form of an infrared result (“IR”) and second as a electrochemical result (“EC”). These are referred to as the IR and EC results. The BAC of a subject for purposes of conviction under N.J.S.A.
What is a DRE case?
The State’s principal argument for proving intoxication typically consists of an evaluation by a Drug Recognition Expert (DRE). A DRE is a police officer that has completed a special course in drug recognition. At the end of the program, the officer would be licensed to perform drug recognition evaluations.
Should you refuse a breathalyzer in NJ?
Under N.J.S.A. 39:4-50.4(a), a driver is required to submit to an alcohol breath test when asked by police in New Jersey. Refusing a breath test will not avoid the consequences of driving drunk. Instead, it will bring on additional penalties, including a longer license suspension and more fines.
What happens in NJ if a driver refuses to take a breath test?
According to law, if a court of law finds you guilty of refusing to submit to chemical tests of your breath, then your license to operate a motor vehicle may be revoked by the court for a period of no less than seven months and no more than 20 years.
How often do breathalyzers get calibrated?
In general, a personal breathalyzer device will indicate that calibration is required after 1 year or 5000 tests; breathalyzers for law enforcement should be calibrated once per month.
How long does it take for your liver to get rid of alcohol?
Alcohol is predominantly broken down in the liver through the actions of an enzyme called alcohol dehydrogenase. On average, the liver can metabolize 1 standard drink per hour for men, or about 0.015g/100mL/hour (i.e., a reduction of blood alcohol level, or BAC, by 0.015 per hour).