How do I get a smog waiver in California?
Make an appointment at a Referee station and bring documentation of two failed smog tests and receipts for money spent on repairs at a licensed smog repair station as well as diagnostics. If you meet the qualifications, you will be granted a waiver that allows you to pass the test without the repairs.
What counties in California do not require smog checks?
What Counties in CA Don’t Require Smog Check? The countries in CA which do not require smog check are El Dorado, Riverside, Placer, San Diego, San Bernardino, and Sonoma.
What vehicles are exempt from smog in California?
What vehicles do not require a Smog Check?
- Gasoline-powered vehicles, hybrid vehicles, and alternative-fuel vehicles that are model-year 1975 and older.
- Gasoline-powered vehicles, hybrid vehicles, and alternative-fuel vehicles that are eight model years and newer do not require a biennial Smog Check.
Can I smog my California car in another state?
There is no need to get a smog inspection in another state, as it will not be valid in California. In order to complete your registration, simply fill out and sign DMV’s Statement of Facts form stating the reason why the vehicle cannot be tested.
What zip codes in CA don’t require smog?
Zip code 90704 (Avalon or Catalina Island) is exempt from smog requirements per Health & Safety Code §44044(A). It is the only exempt zip code in Los Angeles County (19).
How often do you have to smog a new car in California?
every two years
Smog inspections are generally required during a vehicle’s initial registration in California and once, every two years, thereafter. This inspection cycle will continue for as long as the vehicle is registered in this State.
Does a 30 year old car need smog in California 2021?
The new law repeals California’s current rolling emissions-test exemption for vehicles 30 years old and older and replaces it with a law requiring the lifetime testing of all 1976 and newer model-year vehicles.
What year cars don t need smog in California?
Your vehicle does not need a smog inspection if your: Gasoline-powered vehicle is a 1975 year model or older (This includes motorcycles and trailers.) Diesel-powered vehicle is a 1997 and older year model OR with a Gross Vehicle Weight of more than 14,000 pounds.
Can a 49-state car be registered in CA?
As a California resident, you may be able to register a 49-state vehicle if it was: Obtained as part of a divorce, inheritance, or legal separation settlement. Purchased to replace your California registered vehicle that was stolen while you were using the vehicle out of state.
Where can I get my car tested for smog in California?
Use BAR’s Auto Shop Locator to find a Smog Check test-and-repair station or repair-only station to diagnose and repair your vehicle. For additional information, visit the California Air Resources Board’s On-Board Diagnostic Program webpage or contact the Smog Check Referee Program.
What does the California Bureau of automotive repair do?
The Bureau of Automotive Repair (BAR), part of the Department of Consumer Affairs (DCA), serves Californians through effective regulation of the automotive repair and Smog Check industry. In support of this mission, BAR provides a wide range of consumer protection services, including:
What is the Smog Check program?
The Smog Check Program is a vehicle inspection and maintenance program administered by the Bureau of Automotive Repair (BAR). The program is designed to improve air quality by identifying vehicles with excess emissions so they can be properly repaired or retired.
Do I need a smog check for my vehicle registration renewal?
If your DMV vehicle registration renewal notice indicates a Smog Check is required, remember to take the notice with you. This will help ensure that the correct vehicle information and Smog Check certificate are electronically sent to DMV. How can I help my vehicle pass a Smog Check?