How do I evict a month-to-month tenant in New York?
A month-to-month tenancy may be terminated by either party by giving at least one calendar’s month notice before the expiration of the term. For example, suppose your rent is due on the first of each month.
Do you have to give a 30 day notice on a month-to-month lease NYC?
For a month-to-month tenancy, the landlord does not have to give you a reason for terminating. In New York City, the landlord must provide you with a written notice of termination giving 30 days notice that you will have to move before the end of the month.
Can a landlord terminate a month-to-month lease without cause in New York?
Though you can — ostensibly — evict a month-to-month tenant for any reason, New York law still imposes some limitations on landlords. You may not evict a month-to-month tenant for a discriminatory reason, or as retaliation for some other conduct for which the tenant is legally entitled to such protection.
Can you do month-to-month lease in NYC?
A New York month-to-month rental agreement is a rental contract with no end date and can be terminated by either the landlord or tenant within one (1) month’s notice. The lease will continue and be renewed automatically with each month and the tenant’s rent payment.
Can a landlord end a month-to-month tenancy in New York?
It is easy for landlords and tenants to end a month-to-month tenancy in New York. (The situation is more complicated when it comes to breaking a fixed-term lease .)
How do I get Out of a month-to-month lease in New York?
New York tenants who want to get out of a month-to-month rental agreement must provide one month’s notice. Be sure to check your rental agreement which may require that your notice to end the tenancy be given on the first of the month or on another specific date.
Can a landlord give a tenant a month to month lease?
Landlords aren’t required to give a reason to end a month-to-month lease, but they can’t retaliate or discriminate against tenants, and they must provide one month’s written notice. Tenants who don’t follow the terms of their lease or who fail to pay rent may lose the right to be given a month’s notice.
How much notice do you have to give a tenant in NY?
Notice Requirements for New York Tenants. New York tenants who want to get out of a month-to-month rental agreement must provide the same amount of notice (one month) as the landlord (unless the rental agreement provides for a shorter amount of notice).